What's new

Moving from Mühle R41 to straight

I have been shaving for 5 years with my trusty R41 and, now that my 300 blades are running down, I'm thinking of switching allegiances to straights.
I get BBS from R41 almost always, with seldom any weepers or nicks (I shave daily, beard is about average).
Anyone care to comment on the closeness of the shave of R41 Vs shavette (Bluebeard's Revenge in my case, arriving today), assuming good technique for both weapons? If the shavette ultimately gets me a longer lasting and/or closer shave - once I get the technique down - I'll finally take the step to an actual straight.

Cannot comment on the Bluebeard’s Revenge shavette that you have selected, but after many (several years of almost daily) straight shaves, my straight shaves have become closer, smoother, and more comfortable than my shaves with safety razors, including the Mühle R41 variant that I use.

That took quite some time to get there, however, and while you can get reasonably proficient with a safety razor, including the R41, in a few weeks, it will take much longer with a straight razor and will be frustrating at times when the hoped for progress continues to elude you.

So in a nutshell, with an R41 you may get near straight razor results quickly, with a straight razor it will take considerably longer to reach the same level tu pull even and - eventually - pull ahead.

Good luck on your journey.

B.

As said above....pretty hard to compare out of the gate.
I think once mastered and you figure out the edge type, blade type, weight etc of a straight you like youll never go back as the shaves as superb. I beleive all to often people give up because they forget the learning curve they had with the DE or SE and assume that jumping to a straight is going to be perfect out of the box.