What's new

Modern straight razors with a smiling edge?

I have been using a Wade & Butcher for the last 5 years with a minor but not subtle smiling edge. I love it, it really slices through the hair like butter. I've recently been on the market for a new razor, not to replace the W&B but something modern that I'll use when I travel, and maybe for a bit of variety.

However, every modern razor appears to have a straight edge? Is there a reason for this? And are there examples out there of modern razors with a smiling edge?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Here is an example, a Gold Dollar W59. If you can find one, they should cost you about USD 20.

Profile Open.jpg

With proper honing, they take a wicked edge. The W59 is currently my most enjoyable SR to shave with, more enjoyable than my high-end SRs.

Hart steel, at least the two I have came with a smile. They are a little difficult to hone, and the design might be an acquired taste.

Reactions: PWJ
How is the grind on your Wade & Butcher (near wedge, half hollow) and what type of grind would you like the modern razor to have?

I ask because more modern razors have thinner grinds than thick but there are some excellent modern razors with thicker grinds out there.

How is the grind on your Wade & Butcher (near wedge, half hollow) and what type of grind would you like the modern razor to have?

I ask because more modern razors have thinner grinds than thick but there are some excellent modern razors with thicker grinds out there.

Extra hollow. Really an amateur so I cant compare grinds, but I guess a thin grind.