What's new

Mid-Length Handle for Blackbird

I have now used my new (to me) Blackbird about a half dozen times, and it is clearly one of my favorite DE razors. One slight dissatisfaction I have with the razor is the handle length. The short handle, which I have, is just a bit too short. The long handle, which I considered buying, is too long. I would like a handle in the 90-95 mm range which will match the design and polished finish of my Blackbird. Any suggestions? Also, given the way the Blackbird baseplate has an indent for the small protrusion on the Blackbird handle, how well do 3rd party handles fit?

So far these are the two leading candidates:
RazoRock Halo in polished stainless steel at 90 mm and 2.8 oz.
Halo Handle.jpg

and DS Cosmetics KVT in titanium at 92 mm and 1.9 oz.

KVT Handle.jpg

I have no experience with titanium handles, so I'm not sure how such a lightweight handle would affect the performance of the Blackbird, but I just checked and the short Blackbird handle weighs in at 2.1 oz. So there might be more of a difference in performance with the heavier Halo stainless steel handle than with the DS Cosmetics titanium handle. They're both about $30 with shipping, so there is no real price difference.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
The potential issue is the narrow diameter recess. The CG handles fit. @Chan Eil Whiskers had a custom TiBam (not an option right now) handle made for his Blackbird.

If you use a regular handle that doesn't fit into the recess on the plate, just be careful with tightening the handle.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
Will a nylon washer help?

My Claymore Evo has a small recess too... but the M5 nylon washer fits perfectly in that recess. The OEM handle has a chamfered edge that fits into the recess.... but with the nylon washer, the Crown handle fits perfectly.

I haven't seen the back of the BB to know exactly what it looks like. I'm sure there is a photo here somewhere..

Hannah's Dad