What's new

MERKUR HD and (not vs.) MERKUR FUTUR

johnniegold

"Got Shoes?"
I started shaving with a safety razor about 2 weeks ago and joined B&B on 12/13. I have been wetshaving for about 8 years using EJ medium BB and a host of razors (atras, sensors, machs etc). Since then I have really enjoyed my experience with Merkur Futur razor. Started out on setting 1 and now use it set on 2.5. Yesterday, as i posted on SOTD it was probably one of, no it was my best shave yet. Now I received the Merkur HD in the mail yesterday, about 20 minutes after I finished shaving. After a sleepless night :biggrin: I used the HD today, late in the morning so as to have some growth to work on.

Well I absolutely loved using this razor. The manueverability of the razor is much more manageable than that of the Futur, especially around the nose and mouth. The smaller handle I found to be more comfortable albeit a different feel from that of the Futur. The blade in the HD sits something akin to, imo, a 1 to 1.5 setting on the Futur, if that. But, i did notice that the blade in the HD seems to be more secured than that of the Futur. In the Futur i seem to get some blade vibration at various times during a e-w pass (could be i just need to re-lather a bit more).

I don't want to say I like one or the other better, b/c prior to today's shave the Futur had never done me wrong. As a newb, I would say it would be easier to start on the HD. I do enjoy shaving with both. If I needed to shave quickly, I would probably use the HD. If I'm taking a "kids banging on the bathroom door shower" I would probably use the Futur for that long drive in the country shave. For those in-between times, heck they'll probably be in some sort rotation.

P.S. Really enjoying B&B (ADs abounding)

Welcome to the forum Johnnie if I've not already said so, and
Be careful!
Do not put those razors in the same drawer....:eek: