What's new

Merkur 37C and irritation in the neck

Hello folks,

I've been shaving for about 6 months with a DE Merkur 23c which I like.
I use Kai blades and a Kent soap, Cella cream or RazoRock soap, all with tallow in them.
I then apply an unscented aftershave balm.

I occasionally get slight redness/irritation on my neck. Using special lotions for redness such The Cool Fix doesn't really help. I might try witch hazel later....

Now, I heard very good things about the Merkur 37c slant razor. People say it cuts beard very easily requiring less passes for a BBS shave (I currently do 4 passes with my Merkur 23c). However I did talk to someone who said he had a bit of redness around the neck with it. My questions, is, according to what I explained earlier, do you think I could run into the same issue with this razor ? Does anybody had that redness in the neck issue using it ?

Thanks you !

Last edited:
Can't comment on the Slant, but I have recently come to realize that I have some very odd 'swirl' patterns of hair growth on certain areas of my neck. Apparently my dad has the same issue. I used to (and still sometimes do) have some redness if I don't take care of these spots gently, but a bit more focus on growth patterns may help if that is the issue.

aj

You might be slightly allergic to the almond essence or perfume that is added to Cella. It tends to give me a red rash on my neck 100% of the time. If some other product is responsible for the irritation, let it drop out of your rotation and use whatever works best.

With the neck area, it helps to really stretch the neck so the skin is pulled taut. This tends to flatten out some of the areas where raised skin and bumps are more common. Also, if the growth is very thick, it helps to slow down and use shorter strokes.

Last edited: