What's new

Merkur 34C More Aggressive Than Edwin Jagger DE89?

Hi guys. I have been using an Edwin Jagger DE89 and Parker Variant Adjustable for some time. I recently started using the Merkur 34C again and regardless of what blade I use, the 34C does seem a little more aggressive than the DE89. I also find that the shave is more efficient and I'm able to get closer shaves with it. I've read a lot that the DE89 and 34C are similar shaving. But I really don't think so. Anyone else feel the same?

Sent from my CPH1969 using Tapatalk

I also must agree with the above opinions. I've been using my 34C for a few years now and just recently switched over to the EJ89 for a change of scenery. Almost immediately I noticed the difference and right away I began to miss the slightly more aggression that the 34C provided as it did result in a more close and even shave. Although my EJ89 still provides a great shave, I do notice that I just can't quite get as close, especially along my jawline with it.
So now I'm debating if I should go back to the 34C, or stay with the 89 and give it a chance ...... such decisions !! lol :a38:

Last edited:
That said, I've gotten a BBS recently with a DE89 and BIC chrome blade. Requires slight more buffing but it's possible.

In own a 34c but not the DE89. I’ve done a lot of research and read many of these threads and I think I would say, based in reading, most find the 34c slightly more aggressive.

I have both and believe the 34c is more aggressive. However, I am using a Jagger Kelvin (short handle). It seems to be ever so slightly more friendly to my neck.

Is the 34C the same head as the 1904? I had a EJ89 in 2015 (I did a Amazon history buy search) and used to cut myself often in the shower. The 1904 was more like my Super Speed...mild.

Is the 34C the same head as the 1904? I had a EJ89 in 2015 (I did a Amazon history buy search) and used to cut myself often in the shower. The 1904 was more like my Super Speed...mild.