What's new

Matching Watchband to Outfit

Since I'm new to watches, I have a question about matching the watchband to the outfit. If you are wearing a black belt and shoes, does your leather watch band have to be black too?

Are there any rules for matching watches to outfits, like the belt/shoes rule?

Since I'm new to watches, I have a question about matching the watchband to the outfit. If you are wearing a black belt and shoes, does your leather watch band have to be black too?

Are there any rules for matching watches to outfits, like the belt/shoes rule?

The obsessive/compulsive in me prefers to match to the extent possible, so I usually try to avoid wearing a gold watch with a silver belt buckle and vice versa. Same for leather straps -- all else being equal, I try to wear brown with brown and black with black. That being said, the obsessive/complulsive in me doesn't always get his way. The watch I wear to work most of the time has a dark brown alligator strap, yet I often wear it with a black belt and black shoes.

I'll be interested to hear what others have to say on this subject.

Enjoy!

Glad to see you've at least thought about it. I wasn't sure if I was being a bit over the top by considering this.

I don't match bands to outfits. I match bands to the watch itself. I don't worry about the suit I wear.

I tend to lean the way of not wanting to cross silver and gold myself, but most of the reading and researching on men's style I've done usually holds that the watch -- especially if it's a nicer dress watch -- really has it's own standard and isn't judged as something that must necessarily match other parts of your outfit.

There are probably more than a few watch collectors in here who may weigh in.

A nice brown alligator strap can hold it's own with anything.

Last edited:
I only have two watches, one with a black band and one with a silver band. I try to avoid the black one when I am wearing brown.