What's new

Making Mistakes More Mistakes and Learning from Mistakes (and being noob)

Hello all! (another newbie here) I haven't even filled out my profile information yet..

WELL, I bought a "junk" first time razor to see if I wanted to go down this path using a DE razor. I love it! But i realized soon after that while I got the best shave I have ever had in my little life, I bought a razor that could have been much (much) better. That's what I get for buying junk. The handle is garbage and the threading was not done well at all on the handle. (and the handle is cheap plastic too..) I may be able to make a mutant-shaver in the future since I think the head is ok and worth experimenting with. I believe it is probably a knock off made by the lowest bidder... :(

So, I decided to make another ill-researched impulse purchase and I found this vintage Gillette razor on ebay. I know its late to ask this, but was this a good purchase? (link below)

They call it a vintage Gillette Safety Razor from the 80s. The packaging looked legit, but I hope some experienced vintage collectors can tell me if what I got is real or if i made another mistake. Here is the link below:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/111343515922...84.m1439.l2649

If this indeed a steal, then there are 2 left to purchase!

I greatly appreciate your help!!!

The razors seems legit, but to be honest I am not sure if it is such a great deal ... Tech come up for sale frequently in the BST sub-forum. I think you have better chances to find a better deal there.
I mean, probably you will pay the same for a USED one, but earlier Techs are much better built than these recent ones.

Great to have you in the DE community. Just relax and take a deep breath. There are literally tens of millions of vintage razors out there, I started like you and thought I had to buy everything at once. Just be patient and invest some time in looking at completed eBay sales, items on Etsy, and here on the B/S/T to get a feel for correct prices.