What's new

Making ebony scales

I recently picked up a strip of ebony wood when I was getting some oak to make some tonfa with, and it's about the right size to easily cut some scales from. I got it a few months ago without any project in mind for it; I've just always wanted to work with ebony and I don't make it to the wood store much.
That being said, I don't know where to go from having the ebony to making scales. I am a woodworker, but have never made scales before. The cutting of the scales doesn't seem to be a problematic process, but I am wondering if there is anything I should be aware of when polishing up the wood. The waxy texture of it is something I am wholly unfamiliar in working with.
Has anyone here made ebony scales?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
First see if your "ebony" floats or sinks on water. True ebony sinks.

When working with ebony, ensure that you are protected for the ebony dust that may be created.

I have not yet tested it for floating, but I have full confidence that it is ebony. The store I got it from has a large supply of exotic hardwoods, ebony being one of them. It was a small, furring strip sized piece, I took the smallest one I could find because this stuff has fascinated me since I first ran into it, I have always wanted to work with it, and it is expensive as heck, so I got a small piece with the idea to carve a little necklace piece or a tiny box or something, and now, scales.
The wood has the waxy texture that I can't possible describe other than black and waxy, it's unlike any I have encountered elsewhere.
I will perform the test nonetheless.
I have heard there is "use" of the sawdust from it, so I will avoid inhaling it and collect it for whatever.
I am aware that hardwood dust is formally classified as a carcinogen, and many woodworkers end up with throat cancer, so I don't play around haphazardly. Will likely be cut using a coping saw and chisel, there should be minimal dust produced.