What's new

M Jung

I am new to straight razors and have been bitten my the bug. Only day 4 of shaving with a straight razor and I now have 2 straight razors. I purchased a M Jung Our Special today for $20. Does anyone have any information on this straight razor? I know it is a 7/8 hollow grind, and there isn't much i have found with google search. Honed and shave with it, really pleased with the shave, but this is day 4 of straight razor shaving. I am definitely enjoying the journey! Here is what I have been able to find. Any additional information or thoughts would be great. Thank you.

M. JUNG​

Importer​

90 70th St., Brooklyn, NY; moved to 149-151 Church St., New York City in 1921​

ca. 1911 - 1923​

M. JUNG RAZOR CORP.​

252 40th St., Brooklyn, NY (factory); 36 Warren St., New York City (main offices)​

ca. 1918 - 1923
mj.jpg
mj2.jpg
mj3.jpg

There seems to be very little information available on most old straight razor companies. I have a list of old German razor makers but it’s just the name and possible brand name and a date if known.
What you’ve found on that razor is more than Ive found on most of mine. The vast majority seem to be small one man band type companies.

Vintage razors seem to be either good or great. Use it and post your experience of it, which helps build a picture of the Razor for others who come across one and search for info.

So far I am enjoying it the most out of the other razors. Very new to the straight razor shaving, but it just shaves better then my Torrey, Robeson Cutlery Co, and much better then my Wester Bros De-FI. Not sure it it has anything to do with the weight being heaver or just better steel. I put the Robeson on Ebay cause of it shaving so much better. Will keep an eye out for another.

There is a reason why wider blades are usually more expensive, and it's not about the amount of steel used in their manufacture. They are more popular.