What's new

Looking into shavettes.

Basically i was looking into a cheap and reliable shavette. Got any tips? I'm a student so please dont suggest i get a feather AC :laugh:. And sometime i will get straight razors, but my budget can handle only one rabbit hole at the time.
thanks in advance

Basically i was looking into a cheap and reliable shavette. Got any tips? I'm a student so please dont suggest i get a feather AC :laugh:. And sometime i will get straight razors, but my budget can handle only one rabbit hole at the time.
thanks in advance

Equinox on Amazon for less than $15. Holds a DE blade and the blade holding mechanism is better than the Parker "pinch" mechanism. Has heft but feels cheaply made.

I used one of those before I switched to an IBC (which is cheaper Han Feather but not "cheaper")

Ok, found out i dont really need a shavette. Sent an email to larry at whipped dog to see if he can hook me up with a straight and strop kit.

I started with a shavette to get the hang of straight shaving before moving up yo the real thing. If you do decide to go shavette I highly recommend the dovo shavette. Hasn't steered me wrong.

That is a good way to go. Get the kit with the pasted balsa, unless you want to make one yourself. The balsa has really been useful to me. The shave ready Gold Dollar 66 razors from life2short1971 that you see pop up on the marketplace are quite good as well. However, shipping to you might cost as much as the razor.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Larry will get youoff to a good start. A lot of newbies on this forum started out with a Whipped Dog razor. Get a second razor, when you can afford one. It is good to have at least two razors so you can still shave with the second one while trying to hone the first one, or sending it out for honing.