What's new

Looking for some good, cheap hair products.

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on the forum, but I've browsed through the site for a couple months looking at old threads and such and I was wondering if any of you knew of some well-made, inexpensive, and good-smelling hair products?

I've been using Brylcreem for over a year now and that's probably my favorite, scent-wise and it has a decent hold if you use enough. I also have Groom N' Clean, Tres Flores Brilliantine (the goop in the little jar, not the tonic), and some of the newer gels and glues like Johnny B. and Gorilla Snot gel. I'm trying to move away from the newer, weird-smelling gels to the more traditional, classy, and manly hair products, like pomades, hair tonics, creams, etc. I was thinking about some hair tonic to tame my hair frizz but all I found at the store was Vitalis, which I didn't really like. And I've heard a lot of good things about Clubman's and Jeris' hair tonics but I don't know if they'll help with hair frizz.

I'm of Mexican heritage so my hair is thick and wavy and frizzy if that helps any, so go ahead and share some of your favorite inexpensive hair products and let me know why you like them! :thumbup:

You've come to the right place, sir! Welcome to the forum and welcome to part of the forum where hair is for styling, not for shaving.

Water-Based:
I always recommend Layrite products for a great entry-level pomade. It washes out easily and leaves your hair feeling good after you wash it. I think I got it for $9/tub straight from Layrite's website. Good stuff. Might not be that cheap anymore, the last time I bought it was about 2 years ago. Another choice a lot of people go with is Suavecito but for me it acts more like a gel and hardens up too much. I like to be able to re-style my hair throughout the day without having to go to the bathroom to wet my comb.

Petroleum-Based: