What's new

Looking for recommendations on cheap new brush

Hi, I'm relatively new to DE shaving, but I've used brushes for a long time. Well, I used a single brush for decades that fell apart this morning. It was a boar bristle, pretty stiff, but I don't mind.
I'd just run up to the store and pick up a new brush, but I discovered that everywhere that sold them before (Walgreens, Meijer, Sally Beauty Supply, Fred Meyer) stopped selling them in recent years. So now I have to actually seek out a brush online.
Can anyone recommend a cheap but surprisingly good brush? I like boar but would do synthetic.

You have experience with Boar brushes so I’ll recommend an inexpensive brush that is awesome and will provide years of great lathers.
Omega 10049 Pro Boar.
And if you really want to make your great brush last a long time, grab a second one…my recommendation Omega 10102 (also has the Pro Boar knot).
Don’t let the big lofts and large size worry you, these are great.

If you want a medium sized brush try Omega 10066

Or a Semogue 1470 if you like smaller brushes

For bigger brushes the Proraso Pro and Omega 10049 are well regarded.

But if I were you I'd get both the Omega 10066 and a Yaqi Sagrada Familia so you can try synthetic. You can get them both together for like $25 USD

Westcoastshaving.com

Maggards.com

Since most boar and pretty much all synthetic brushes are very inexpensive, I suggest you to get one of each and give them a try. Like some have already suggested, you can get a nice Omega and Yaqi without breaking the bank.

I've only used one boar brush and it was an Omega 10049 and even after I broke the hair and made her work a bit better, I still wasn't impressed with the results and I sold her. I only use synthetic brushes, which perform incredibly well and I absolutely see no reason to try anything else.

As always - YMMV.

This might help: