What's new

Long time lurker

First post. Have been following this site since 2017. Here’s my first contribution. Looking forward to many more.

Soap: B&M Reserve Cool

Brush: Dogwood Handcrafts 26mm Badger

Razor: Rockwell 6S

Blade: Feather

AS: B&M Reserve Cool

BBS 10/10 ;)

Attachments

• 9F7192C3-B1E7-4944-9BC3-7D6B259F9A9D.jpeg
    9F7192C3-B1E7-4944-9BC3-7D6B259F9A9D.jpeg
    284.4 KB · Views: 16
More about my background,

I’m a physician that does a mixture of clinic and hospital in rural Northeast Mississippi. Started getting into DE shaving when I was required to clean shave in med school. Always had trouble with razor burn on neck with cartridges and found this site that quickly answered my problems, thanks to a very knowledgeable community that are willing to help out and give advice from years of experience.

Husband to a loving wife and father to a beautiful 14 month old girl. Very blessed.

Attachments

• IMG_5207.png
    IMG_5207.png
    4 MB · Views: 15
Welcome, nice good to have another Rockwell brother.
What plate to do you usually prefer?
I change it up to keep myself honest 😂. A lot of my plate selection depends on how sharp my blade is. Daily shaves I’ll usually go plate 3 if I shaved the day before or 4 if it’s been 2 days. But I’m comfortable with anywhere from 3-6. If I have time and not in a rush, I’ll throw a feather blade in a 6 plate and test my technique. But GSB or Astra SP on a 3-4 I can reliably get a quick shave with no irritation. Plates 1-2 are too mild for me even with a sharp blade.

As long as you can make a good lather, know your facial hair pattern, and consistently find the right angle to let the blade do the work, it doesn’t matter the combination in my opinion. Just fine tune blade gap/plate/razor selection to blade sharpness and enjoy the shave.