What's new

Long-time head shaver, but newbie to forum!

I just stumbled across this forum while researching razor burn/head bumps. I've been shaving my head for about 12 -13 years now. I generally enjoy it, but have always struggled with bumps cropping up immediately after shaving.

Now, I've usually never let it bother me until the other day at work. I was freshly shaven from the night prior and one of my co-workers exclaimed, "Man, how the hell do you get such razor burn? Don't you ever change razors???" We had a lil friendly back and forth for a few minutes, but the conversation has left me thinking that I need a change.

Years ago ago, in my head-shaving rookie years, I used some sort of Gillette razor. Graduated to the Dollar Shave Club Executive. Noticed a nice improvement. After a few years, I'm now using Harry's razors. I like them ok, but I'm still struggling with a plethora of obviously noticeable red bumps that recede just long enough to pop back out the next time I shave. I'm interested in swapping over to a straight razor to see what kind of results I can achieve. However, I have ZERO experience with that type of blade.

My current regiment:

I only shave my head in the shower with relatively hot water. Usually on Sunday night and then Thursday or Friday night. I shave AGAINST the grain. It's what I've always done and just realized that I've never really thought about it. Usually use either soap or occasionally Dollar Shave Club Pillowy Shave Lather.

Never use any other products on my head post-shave. Just get out of the shower and towel off.

I feel like I'm probably doing a million things wrong. So, I need some guidance. I'm tired of the bumps and razor burn. Never had an expert really show me the proper way to do things. Just shave and go by the seat of my pants.

What to do? What and where to buy? Technique changes?

Thanks for letting me ramble.

Welcome! I'm not a head shaver, but there are plenty of them here who will be happy to help!