What's new

Life on the edge: Newbie with a slant bar...

I'm a noob after 25 years of electric shaving. Started with an EJ89 which is a lovely, kind razor, but gives close shaves with Astra SP and 3 passes.

However, I'm after something more....exotic, so I go straight for the Merkur 37C slant bar. It is well made, equal to the EJ, but the twist looks intimidating!

So I used the supplied Merkur blade, usual prep, Proraso red and well...nothing happened! No nicks, cuts, scares or anything. It feels harsher on the skin, but the end result isn't a closer shave than the EJ, which surprises the heck our of me. I wonder if it's technique?

Next, using the Astra SP with the great RSC shave2 cream. End result, a better shave, but still, not as close or as smooth as the EJ. I'm 3-passing with the 37C, as normal and keeping the same technique, i.e. not being scared of the razor.

Overall, the 37C is not as scary or as effective for me as I thought it would be. RAD strikes....feel the need for a Merkur adjustable!

Last edited:
I started with a Merkur 34c and then bought a 37c the slant gave me the same shave just more efficient, less passes and touch ups still like it but i still sought out more exotic and aggressive razors

Cobra classic se aggressive and exotic and expensive!!
Gillette slim adjustable more aggressive than slant cool vintage tto and cheap $25 for a nice clean one
Muhle r41 most aggressive de same price as slant
Futur cool exotic heavy havnt shaved with it yet just came in mail today I have read it can be dialed up pretty aggressive
YMMV!!!!