What's new

Least amount of packaging for blades?

Newbie here. With apologies if this has been tackled before, but I did do a search but couldn't find anything.

One of the reasons I've come back to wet shaving is that every time I threw away that disposable plastic razor, it just didn't sit well with me. Going to razor blades means that I will just be throwing away a used blade.... or does it?

The problem I'm having now is that any razor blades I can get seem to be 5 to a plastic box holder -now granted that's still less plastic used than compared to a plastic razor, but still, it doesn't sit well with me either!

So here are the questions: which blades have the least amount of packaging? Are there any blades that do not come in plastic packaging at all? Or are there any blades that come in say, 20 to a plastic holder box rather than 5 or 10? Is there a reason for so few blades to a box?

I appreciate that it's not going to work if the razor blade is of poor quality, but wanted to get a listing of low packaged blades and then find the one that works for me with the least amount of packaging. Thanks for any advice.

Out of the blades I use, only feather, derby and wilkinson sword come in plastic containers.
Gillette 7 oclocks are cardboard packets of 5, and are red israeli personnas, bic, kai, croma and most the ones I have used.
Granted they might be like that because they were samplers, ie bought from somebodies 100pk, and the retail versions in lots of 5-10 might be in plastic. If so, you could buy samplers or your own 100pk

I've seen boxes of 100 blades. Each blade is loose with a paper cover. I think that is about as good as it gets.

RP Personnas do come in paper-wrapped packs of 5 no matter how many you buy (I just ordered a hundred from WCS and got 20 little boxes). I think the Israeli Personnas come in a cardboard box of 100; I have seen them packaged that way on eBay anyway.

I toss the little plastic holders in the recycling.