What's new

Learning to Love It

Or at least I hope so.

Today I decided to start a little project. After spending all of last week getting to know and love my r41 (previously my least favorite razor I own due to noob), I've taken on the task of getting to know my second least favorite.

The Merkur 12C.

I hate this razor for all of the opposite reasons that I very mistakenly hated the r41. Where originally I felt the r41 to be too aggressive, I find the 12c to be entirely too mild.

Having said that, I've decided to spend up to a month to figure this razor out. I say "up to" because if I manage to start getting good shaves consistently with it, I'll just move it into rotation.

Now then, a little background:
I've been wetshaving for a couple of years now, albeit not super consistently. I spent a few months on DEs and then moved to straights, eventually going through a brief "scruffy" phase where I would only trim my beard with trimmers. Now I'm back to DEs, quite happily.

My beard is coarse, my skin somewhat sensitive.

I shave in the evening and my usual prep consists of washing my face with hot water and various face-washes, followed by a few drops of C.O. Bigelow or Musgo Real pre-shave oil (tried shave secret and wasn't crazy about it, probably used too much).

For the course of the project I'll be sticking to TOBS Avocado cream (I'm a soap guy, but I'm sitting on all of these creams so I'm trying to use them up), but I'll be experimenting with various blades until I find one that outperforms the others in this particular razor.

So, without further ado, on with the project.

Day 1

Prep - Hot water and face wash, followed by 2 drops of C.O. Bigelow pre-shave oil
SC - Tobs Avocado
Brush - Semogue 2011 LE in Finest Badger #1
Razor - 12C
Blade - Polsilver

Result: