What's new

Learning the Ropes

Hey, I have been poking around here a little this afternoon and decided to post. I am pretty new to Cigars. Really, I have no idea what ones I like. I have been randomly buying a few at a liquor store that has a walk-in humidor. But, I am ready to get serious.

I am looking to get an inexpensive humidor, for one thing. Nothing big or fancy. Richgem suggested a Cigar Jar. Looks like a good idea although I do like the look of a wooden one. Haven't decided yet.

I have a nice Zippo I have used for a few years for cigarettes but am not sure if I need to invest in something better adapted to cigars. Only reason I question this is I just smoked one outside (Which will be my norm.) and had a little trouble with the wind. But, I do love my Zippo. In case anyone cares, the picture below looks like my zippo.

proxy.php

I also need to start keeping track of what I am smoking and what I do and don't like about them.

Slightly off track, I have decided I want a cigarette case also. I will probably be scanning the local antique stores for one this summer.

Anyhow, that is where I stand. I welcome any advice. And yes, I have been reading the stickied tutorials. I have already learned some things I was doing wrong. So, looking forward to learning more and may use this thread to update as I go.

On the lighter topic: I've got a PB-207 torch and a regular Zippo. I use them both fairly equally. Best advice on the Zippo is to let it burn for a few seconds to get the majority of the naptha aroma out.

+1 on the Cigar Jar or a Tupperdor

Commander Quan

Commander Yellow Pantyhose
If you want to pick up a torch, you can get a Ronson Jetlite at Walmart for ~$3 or better yet pick up 4-5 of them, mine always grow legs and walk off. also check out the Gentlemen's Essential articles on cigars, the author is a blowhard, but maybe it can help you get started.

Gentlemen's Essentials - Cigars