What's new

Lather

I’m really new to wet shaving so this may sound like a dumb question lol.
How the hell do these reviewers on you tube get that much lather? Am I doing something wrong? I have a boar omega brush which was cheap but no matter what I do I can’t seem to get enough lather for even the second pass.
For reference I’m using only 2 soaps
Stirling glacial Wintergreen and Proraso green.

What omega brush? My 22mm can't hold as much lather as my 24mm.

Also, note 2 things.

A) A new boar brush eats your lather. Nothing you can do about it except patiently breaking it in.

B) Even a well used boar requires more cream than a synthetic.

Lastly those youtubers spend a minute or so loading the crap out of their puck. A drier brush also helps, then add water as needed.

How long do you load your brush? You may not be adding enough soap to begin with and the boar brush most likely still needs breaking in.

I soak my omega boar while I’m showering. I shake the water out just to where it isn’t dripping. I load about 30 secs. in the Proraso rib and then go to my warm scuttle. I add water as necessary and in about a minute I have enough lather for 3 face passes and 2 head passes. My water isn’t real soft but isn’t real hard either. Water hardness will make a difference in lather production as well.

My boar is 5 months old and is used daily but it made good lather from day one and had only gotten better.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What omega brush? My 22mm cant

I’m not sure just bought it at shoppers drug mart here in canada??
What omega brush? My 22mm can't hold as much lather as my 24mm.

Also, note 2 things.

A) A new boar brush eats your lather. Nothing you can do about it except patiently breaking it in.

B) Even a well used boar requires more cream than a synthetic.

Lastly those youtubers spend a minute or so loading the crap out of their puck. A drier brush also helps, then add water as needed.