What's new

Lather with a boar brush

I recently purchased a Proraso boar brush, and am having trouble replicating the lathers I was getting from my synthetic. Is this normal? I seem to be creating less lather with the same amount of shaving cream?

I'm still quite new to all of this, but wouldn't a set amount of shaving cream create the same amount of lather regardless of the brush used? The boar definitely takes more water, but the end amount is still substantially less.

Boar brushes need to go through a break-in period. Give it 15-20 lathering sessions and you should see a big improvement. It will continue to gradually improve with more use from that point.

Especially when new, be sure to soak your boar brush in warm water for five or ten minutes before shaving to make sure it is fully saturated. Let the brush fully dry out after each use, that will help the tips to split, the brush will become much softer and will lather easier. An every other day schedule works well for this.

A larger brush will take more soap to make the same lather compared to a smaller brush. An equal size boar and synth should make the same amount, but the synth will make it more quickly and easily.

Boar in general don't give easy and lush lather like badgers (and most synths) can with almost any halfway decent soap. The best boars come close; especially if your soap is good. But in generally they're just a little less effective at lathering with poor to average soaps (in my experience). With top notch soaps and a good boar brush though, the difference becomes almost unnoticeable. When I was still using mediocre soaps, I just couldn't understand why folks liked boars. Once I upgraded my soaps; they became much closer to badgers across the board... and like I said, the really good ones became very nearly comparable.

The do improve with break-in in most cases. But that's more of a good brush turns great... not a bad brush turns good type of change.