What's new

La Lorraine/ Rouge Du Salm

So, I've noticed that in the past few months every BBW that shows up on eBay has suddenly become a La Lorraine or Rouge Du Salm. It's getting to the point where it's worse than the old days when every oil-encrusted Synth anyone found was an "Escher" and every two sided stone was a "coticule". Now I'm no expert on these stones, but I've got exactly THREE examples of BBW that I believe are likely to be Rouge Du Salm, and they're all pretty darn distinct. I'm curious what people with more experience with these stones have to say about how readily eBayers are to label their BBW's as Rouge or Lorraine these days, as well as to see some more definitively identified examples of them.

The first is the one I'm most confident about. Deep Burgandy Red in between two layers of BBW on a vintage I picked up awhile back. Completely sandwiched, which makes the distinction from the surrounding rock pretty obvious. Ignore the nasty hairbrush.

Attachments

• $IMG_20151029_072903086.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072903086.jpg
    31.8 KB · Views: 294
  • $IMG_20151029_072914271.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072914271.jpg
    31.8 KB · Views: 287
  • $IMG_20151029_072925456.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072925456.jpg
    43.5 KB · Views: 279
  • $IMG_20151029_072929264.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072929264.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 275
  • $IMG_20151029_072934915.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072934915.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 274
Last pic of the above stone... then, my second.

This stone I had no clue about for awhile, I just thought it was a crazy looking stone. If anything more red than the above stone, but It appears to actually be the very edge of a Rouge layer where some upheaval sent spikes of BBW into the layer. Kept it because it's by far the craziest looking BBW I've ever seen.

Attachments

• $IMG_20151029_072955170.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_072955170.jpg
    37.9 KB · Views: 232
  • $IMG_20151029_073102299.jpg
    $IMG_20151029_073102299.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 234