What's new

La Grise help

I’ve been honing myself for 15 years or so but have realised that whilst functional my efforts haven’t been as productive as I’d like so I am attempting to improve and master my stone.

I have a large La Grise and I was hoping some experts could please give me some pointers.

I find the stone seems to autoslurry quite quickly on water only and produces a much hazier finish on the edge than the stone I use before (Superstone 8k).

I follow that up with running water. I strop on linen before moving to the coti and double my stropping efforts when finished ready for the first shave.

I’m still only able to get a very comfortable but not particularly close shave.

For comparison I have (for the first time in a loooong time) had a couple of my razors professionally honed on synths and these produce a much keener (yet as expected slightly crisper and to me less comfortable) shave.

I would love to understand my stone better so would appreciate advice.

Dai

Also, have you considered turning up the flow of the water from the faucet? That might help to neutralize the auto slurrying.

Also, have you considered turning up the flow of the water from the faucet? That might help to neutralize the auto slurrying.
Thank you. Yes I normally do 3 stages of increasing flow.

I’ve avoided using soap recently but did try it in the past (over a year ago).

I’ve recently been exclusively following a tip from Gary Haywood to add a layer of tape which I gather interferes with the feedback.

If you are getting an edge from 8k that shaves ok (perhaps not the most skin friendly) without paste, only the last refinement is needed with the finisher.

When moving to the coti I would test with enough running water flow directly that will
remove the loose particle effect totally.

Perhaps 1/4" diameter waterflow 2" under the crane?
Only do very light X-strokes.

This is what I would test if I suspected that the slurry only had a bad effect.