What's new

Knife sharpening transition into straight razor sharpening

I’ve been sharpening knives for about thirty years. My knives initially were German, Swiss, and French but now include may Japanese blades. I’ve switched from a two-sided oil stone to Naniwa water stones. My sharpening kit includes 220, 1000, 3000, 5000, 8000 grit water stones. A paddle strop, one side with Flexcut Gold (aluminum oxide/titanium oxide blend) the other side with no sharpening compound. I just purchase a hanging strop to use exclusively for my straight razor. I use a B & L 10x jewelers hoop for a close look of a blade's edge.

The SR that I recently bought was prepped to be shave ready by the online store I purchased from.

The first thing I noticed is when shaving you feel/hear the blades edge much more than do with a knife blade. I sharpen my knives 2 or 3 times a year depending on use. I don’t worry about every microchip; it doesn’t make enough of a difference. Why take off more steel than you need to? An SR seems much more sensitive. How often do you sharpen on your stones? If you feel the strop is not quite doing the job can you jump on with the 5000 grit stone instead of starting up with the 1000 grit? Just a lit polish, not a full new edge. Is it a waste of effort that won’t really help? I don’t have enough experience yet to know how sharp I want/need my blade to be.

So the question really is; how do you maintain a nice sharp SR edge and yet not waste any precious steel?

The number one thing that most people do who know all about sharpening knives is to take too much off and to use too much pressure. Don't think in terms of removing metal with a straight and you should be using almost no pressure.

Once you have a sharp blade just go to the 12k hone for a few passes and that's about all you will ever need to do other than stropping.

A straight razor edge is much more refined and delicate.