What's new

Knife Roll

In two weeks I'm starting a new job as a prep cook/ pantry cook/ soup & stock cook / whatever needs to be done around the restaurant cook. This isn't my first rodeo as I worked as a pantry cook at a small French restaurant for a year back in the day. But all of my current knives are burnt out and even if I had them sharpened, SWMBO would be pretty upset if I took all of the kitchen knives. So it was time to invest in some new knives, and to also upgrade my old pathetic knife roll to something sturdy.

Here's the set up that I decided on:
I'm a big fan of the Professional S series by Zwilling J. A. Henckels, for the following reasons.
The bolsters(French for pillow) are thick and defined, which gives your thumb and pointer finger something to wrap around.
The handles have a heft to them, yet are still on the small side which makes it easy to wrap your hand around and easy to control.
The balance is superb, All of these knives will balance on a single finger with ease. The importance of a wall balanced tool is that it becomes an extension of your arm and hand, thus not wearing you out.

8" chef's knife
General use, great for breaking down most veggies(halving, chopping, dicing, mincing.) and cutting odd things like cold cakes.

7" Santoku
Great for slicing. Tomatos, onions, avocados ect.

8" Bread knife
Slicing croissants in half, properly cutting baguettes, and cutting wraps and sandwiches in half.

5.5" Boning knife
(This one is new to me, but when I saw "protein fabrication" listed in my job description I knew it would be important.)
Boning knives are fantastic for two purposes, removing bones from a whole chicken/cut of beef, and precisely slicing meat into either perfect cutlets or slices.

4" Paring knife
Intricate cuts that require great detail like turning a grapefruit into supremes, or any cutting that you would do while holding the object in your non knife hand, peeling a lemon for example.

tempImageIMpec8.png
tempImageTzw56H.png