What's new

Kindle/ebook vs Paper

What do people prefer and what is the majority of your collection?

• Prefer kindle/ebook

• Prefer physical books

• Most of my collection is in kindle/ebook

• Most of my collection is in physical books

Results are only viewable after voting.
Another happy mail day today, a book I recently ordered arrived in the post.

It got me thinking, what do people think on the whole kindle/ebook versus paper idea?

A great deal of my library is in the kindle/ebook format, but I do have quite a number of physical books.

Both have their uses and merits, but what does everyone think?

Legion

Staff member
I am all about paper books. I can't see myself ever buying a device to read books off.

If I was a student and having to cart multiple heavy textbooks to and from school, that would be different, but for me it will always be paper.

Recreational reading is almost all Kindle. References/texts/etc are 99% paper. Hard to annotate margins and stick in unique book marks at appropriate spots.

I dont read a lot but when I do it's almost always an ebook. I like that I can increase the font and it remembers where i left off.

The beauty of a physical book lies in it's portability; no batteries, not impaired by too much light on the screen, readily available and easy to pack when travelling (TSA doesn't care about paper books), can't be erased by a CPU or memory crash and there is a certain comfort in the feel of a real book.

I prefer books, but the kindle paperwhite was great for reading classics I was downloading from gutenberg. Then amazon decided to change the file system last year and all my classics disappeared. My attempts to re-download them were unsuccessful, so I haven't touched the kindle in 7 months. If my wife wasn't using the kindle for her daily Bible readings, I'd go visit some Kentucky friends and use it for target practice.