What's new

Just picked up my first Gillette -- how should I clean it up?

Hey folks,

So after shaving with the Wal-Mart VDH for the past month I thought I'd swing by the antique mall and see what I could find; to my surprise, I found an old Gillette for 12 bucks! It's a bit dirty but still in great shape. Not sure what model it is, I'm still brand new at this. The folks at the antique mall recommended CLR, but I was wondering what you all thought. Here's some pics for reference.
15232951703542881823541811023772.jpg
15232951909254875736710129696011.jpg

Attachments

• 15232952229846612945566587041239.jpg
    15232952229846612945566587041239.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 27
Scrubbing bubbles worked great for my slim adjustable. A little elbow grease, a toothbrush, and baking soda/water into paste also works well.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Hannah's Dad

I Can See Better Than Bigfoot.
Nice Superspeed. Don’t use CLR. Rather, get some Scrubbing Bubbles (without bleach) and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then get some Dawn, hot water and a soft toothbrush and give it a bath. If you want it to really shine, you may consider Flitz polish. Looks like an endcap might be a little off. Is it opening/closing properly?

Nice Superspeed. Don’t use CLR. Rather, get some Scrubbing Bubbles (without bleach) and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then get some Dawn, hot water and a soft toothbrush and give it a bath. If you want it to really shine, you may consider Flitz polish. Looks like an endcap might be a little off. Is it opening/closing properly?

Thanks a bunch! I'm not having any issues opening and closing it at the moment.

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
Hot water, boiling hot, but dont boil the razor.

Add a squirt of Dawn dish soap and stir it to mix it, you dont want bubbles, just coloured water. Let it soak until the water cools then attack it with a toothbrush saturated with Dawn. Now you want bubbles. Rinse it off and see what you think.