What's new

JapanatHome stones on eBay

Picked this puppy up from J@home on eBay. Guy seems to have appeared overnight a few months back listing 5-10 jnats at a time with pretty reasonable, though succinct descriptions. At first I suspected it was a second eBay outlet for 330mates rocks, but I can't say that for certain. There isn't a 330mate stamp on mine, just the standard circled 力 followed by 正本山.

First use was interesting. I definitely wouldn't call it a hard stone. One of the softer stones I have in fact. I'm no expert, but on the typical 1-5+++ scale, if my karasu is a 5+++ and something you can crumble with your fingers is 1, I'd say this would be around 3.5-4.
It turns Karasu about 50-60% of the way down and has one ~1.5cm crack on the surface I can't feel and a few chunks missing out on the sides. Nothing really serious. I'll have shave results off it probably tomorrow. For HHT and scope inspection, I'd say it appears a fair bit coarser than my Karasu, and a bit under my 13k JIS. I'd estimate the sharpness off it just from those tests to be at most 10.5-12k JIS range, but the shave will tell me more.
That little red strip on the end is separated from the rest of the stone by an ~2cm thick strip that appears to have su, though the rest of the stone does not. Very peculiar, and the texture is noticeably different in that strip.

Seller included a japanese postcard in the box which was kind of neat.

Description:
Maruka Kiita Tamagoiro Back Side Karasu Japanese Natural Whetstone Toishi Kyoto
the size is 56*190*19
weight is 478g

hard stone

good for razor hone

Has anyone else experimented with hones from this seller? Experiences?

Attachments

• $PICT0039.jpg
    $PICT0039.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 336
  • $PICT0040.jpg
    $PICT0040.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 333
  • $PICT0041.jpg
    $PICT0041.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 333
  • $PICT0042.jpg
    $PICT0042.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 338
  • $PICT0043.jpg
    $PICT0043.jpg
    49 KB · Views: 332
Last edited: