What's new

It's just soap?

I have been using shaving soap for the past 2 years. My favorites are Haslinger, Stirling, PDP 63, and others. All my choices cost less than $15. I find they all provide a good lather, nice scent, cushion, slickness and post shave feel that is enjoyable. In fact, I think Stirling soaps are awesome and very inexpensive.

My question is; How much better are the expensive soaps? What do they offer that justifies prices over $30? I'm talking about Antica Barbieria, Czech & Speake, and others. Is there something that makes expensive soaps more than just soap?

It may experience you don’t always get what you pay for but sometimes you do need to spend a bit more for the best. My favourites include mostly mid range soaps but I have tried most of the famous high end soaps too. My current top 5 are below.

1. Saponificio Varesino
2. Mike’s Naturals
3. Mitchell’s Wool Fat
4. Czech and Speake
5. Tabac

It’s always worth it to try before you buy if possible. Everyone has different taste and price is not a guarantee of performance. The soaps you mentioned have many fans and are fine performers. PDP does lack a bit of residual slickness for my taste but may be fine for you.

The trouble with soaps is you don’t know what your missing until you try it and there is soooo much to try. Do yourself a favour and get some samples. At least then you will know what all the fuss is about and if it really is just a lot of hot air.

I would never dare quote a brand or ingredients as better or worse but I see that the preference for any one soap is too subjective, based on not only scent and performance but also affected by lathering skills and even water quality.
Higher cost or prettier items can create happiness when aligned with the right personalities. So the value in higher cost or luxury packaging is real for some people.