What's new

Is VDH underrated?

I was thinking the other day about inexpensive shave soaps and it seems like we always talk about Arko, Colonel Conk and Cella but we never talk about VDH even though its cheaper than all of those soaps and readily available at most grocery stores and pharmacies.
Personally, when I work through the arrary of soaps that I picked up during the Black Friday sales; Im seriously considering just going VDH or Arko. I love the scents of some of the artisan soaps but I dont find that the shave is any better.

I guess it depends on how you rate a soap. VDH is definitely an excellent performer in my book. I’m not particular wowed by it’s scent or texture.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
I love VDH Luxury soap. I rate it right up there with the best of them. I've been using it for over 7 years and if I had to keep just one soap that would be it.
I also made it into a shave stick. Great performance either way.

VDH_CC.JPG

Last edited:
I haven't tried the white soap, but I have tried the pink soap (deluxe) and it worked fine. The Luxury Shave soap isn't cheaper than Arko for me, but I do think I have seen it around stores around here. Cheapest accessible soap however, is Williams, at under $1.20 a puck. Buying Arko in bulk puts it around the same price, shipped.

I think it is! My first soap was VDH Luxury scented. Not the greatest scent but it is easy to lather in hard water. Has great slickness and the post shave feel is nice. A couple years ago I went big and bought a tub of MdC and, this is just my opinion, I would rather use VDH over it.

VDH is what got me into brush-and-soap lathering. I’ve had better luck with VDH luxury soap than several mainstream milled soaps and at a dollar per ounce it’s tough to beat the value. A bar lasts me for probably three months. I just started one and still have three more unopened. I don’t ever plan to be without it as long as it’s made.