What's new

Is this spine wear normal?

Hi, I am new to Badger & Blade. I enjoy shaving with my straight razor. I bought my razor new but it was professionally honed before it was shipped to me. I would like to ask about the spine wear on my razor. I attached a picture. There is a line of wear on the spine, and the line of wear is slightly wider towards the shoulder. Is this amount of wear normal? Also, should I be concerned that line of wear is not uniform in width? I noticed that the spine of the razor is slightly thicker in the area where the line of wear is wider.

I have a Naniwa 12K finishing stone that I use to touch up the razor. I have only used the Naniwa 12K stone several times since I have had the razor. I usually do around 10 laps with light pressure. I have never used any other stones or hones besides the Naniwa 12K. I am getting good shaves from the razor, but I wonder if there is anything wrong with my technique on the finishing stone that might be causing excessive spine wear. Is it possible that a lot of the wear is mostly from the initial honing done before I received the razor? I never paid attention to it in the past so I am not sure. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• razor.JPG
    razor.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 167
Hard to be conclusive about the spine wear. Whether or not that amount of wear 'too much' or not really depends on what initial geometry was like; some reazors need to be honed a bit more than others. IMO, if the bevel angle is fine, then the spine wear is inconsequential. I would be more concerned about the questionable toe-wear, and what appears to be a frown in the edge. The upward curve in the edge could be be caused by lens distortion, or the camera angle I guess... but at a glance it appears to be a frown. The toe seems to have been hit pretty hard.