What's new

Is this brush any good? (Beginner question)

Hi guys!

I'm a beginner DE shaver (actually haven't shaved once yet as my DE razor is yet to arrive).

I haven't bought a brush yet but my father has an old one which he doesn't use. Here's a picture of it:

proxy.php

As far as I can tell it says "Vulfix Pure Bristle Shaving Brush"
On the bottom it says REGD. DES. NO. 935721 Made In England.

Anyone have any idea what kind of brush this is? Boar/badger/synthetic? Thanks!

Mike H

Instagram Famous
A vintage Vulfix boar brush from your father?... yes, that is good.
How effective it is, and how much you enjoy using it is hard to say, but Vulfix is a well known maker.

Welcome to B&B and congratulations.

A vintage Vulfix boar brush from your father?... yes, that is good.
How effective it is, and how much you enjoy using it is hard to say, but Vulfix is a well known maker.

Welcome to B&B and congratulations.

Is it a boar brush? How can you tell?

Mike H

Instagram Famous
The hair looks like boar, and the label says "Pure Bristle" which indicates that it is boar.

Yes, its a boar brush, since it mentions "bristles" on the label. Since its a family heirloom, its priceless.

But how long has it been since your father used it? Bristles can get dried out and brittle with age, so it may not stand up for too many shaves. Give it a good cleaning, and give it a go. If nothing else, you've got a nice handle waiting to for a good re-knotting.

Yes, its a boar brush, since it mentions "bristles" on the label. Since its a family heirloom, its priceless.

But how long has it been since your father used it? Bristles can get dried out and brittle with age, so it may not stand up for too many shaves. Give it a good cleaning, and give it a go. If nothing else, you've got a nice handle waiting to for a good re-knotting.