What's new

Is there a coffee scale that stays "on" longer so that one does lose the "tare" setting?

This is the issue I refer to in the thread of what did I learn from my coffee brewing method, where I conclude, yet again, that I am not a one trial learner.

I started brewing pour over much more "carefully" not all that long ago and I am finding the improvement in the brewed coffee much more than I expected. So one thing I am doing is weighing the water and coffee in grams on an inexpensive battery powered platform type kitchen scale. Pretty handy in that you can set a vessel of some sort of other on the scale and press the tare bottom, to zero the scale out so that you are weighing whatever you put into the vessel, be it water or coffee. My problem is that frequently enough I get delayed or distracted and the scale turns off automatically losing the tare setting so I do not know, for instance, how much water I have poured over the grounds.

I seem to do better at this having learned what happens if I do not stay on it, but is there a fairly inexpensive such scale that stays on for a much longer time, or has an adjustable time for the auto turn off or similar? I suppose I will learn eventually, but it would be handy to have a scale that either did not turn off, or, I suppose, retained its tare setting when one turned it back on. I cannot be the only one with this problem!! Thanks.

Star_Wahl_Clipper_Treker

Likes a fat handle in his hand
This is the issue I refer to in the thread of what did I learn from my coffee brewing method, where I conclude, yet again, that I am not a one trial learner.