What's new

Is the Merkur Futur worth it?

Ok so as the title pretty well explains I am considering the Merkur Futur. My main concern is lots of people seem to say that it is SUPER aggressive. I have only tried a few razors so far i.e. Gillette SS and Red tip. I didn't really care for the red tip but i think that was in part due to the dollar general blades. I have had the opportunity to use a Velvet razor that was extremely mild, that however made me irritate the crap out of my face due to needing extra passes to get it to actually cut down. A little info about me: With carts I shaved once a week due to slower growth, I don't usually get very long or very wiry hair. I seem to have pretty sensitive skin that does not like too many passes regardless of direction. and im really new to D/E only have about 6 or so shaves under my belt. Can anyone give me some suggestions/opinions towards the Futur? I also considered the gillette adjustables but it seems most of them go for about $20 less than the Futur. Any help/tips will be greatly appreciated!

I have one; it's one of my favorite razors. But I would wait to try it until you're getting consistently good, comfortable shaves with your Red Tip. It is fairly aggressive even on its low settings. As far as fit and finish, no complaints. It's pretty and well made.

You only have 6 shaves, which means your technique is still in the early stages. Probably worth sticking with one razor (like the SS) for at least a month while you get the hang of things.

Last edited:
I had a Futur quite a few years ago and it was a good razor. My major complaint in the end was that because of the bulk of the head, it was difficult to shave close under my nose. Merkur's Progress is another one which you should perhaps consider.