What's new

Is it ok to use vintage NOS blades?

The thing to keep in mind with vintage blades is their propensity to rust. Keep an eye out for that and probably a good idea to ensure tetanus booster is up to date.

I have personally used blades older than that without issue.

Tetanus is PROBABLY not a worry, as long they weren't stored in the muck of a horse stall or Dairy Farm.

LOL, but as usual, "Your Mileage May Vary", very much!

True, rust won't get you. But bacteria ipon hands might. I work in health care and have seen the hand cultures of many, many folks including health care workers. Get the booster!

Super Silver for me as well. The folks at the Vintage Blade Collectors Club will help you with even the most exotic find.
4AEA0CB5-CC5E-41A3-AE76-64EA82B7D44A.jpeg

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
As noted above, stainless is usually OK. I have a stash of Gillette Super Stainless and Spoilers from the early to mid-seventies that I occasionally indulge in, the vintage Wilkinson Swords are another that works well for me. Have fun.

Carbon steel blades are for the display ...
full

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
I'm of the opinion that the classic stainless blades are better than what is available today as the latest .. Vintage Personna 74's, Schick Plus Platinums, Gillette Spoilers are the ones I have tried & continue to shave with. The former have become unobtainium mostly, but the Schick's & Spoilers are readily available. I'd buy only sealed packs & haven't been disappointed save a couple packs that were stuck together .. which was sorted.