What's new

Is Fine Accoutrements Aftershave ok for your skin without a balm?

Hello,

I am new to wet shaving and I am curious about the ingredients in Fine Accouterments Aftershave. Their fragrances are particularly interesting to me. Especially the Floid Blue dupe. However, I have read commenters alleging that the ingredients in the aftershave are inadequate and that a balm should be used in conjunction, due to FA's lack of skin nourishing components. I also saw commenters saying that the splash was reformulated and may be suitable now. I own their platinum aftershave and it feels the same as my samples from artisans.

I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Thank you for your time.

If you wish to use balm, then use it. If not, then don't.
Using an alcohol-based splash without balm will not turn your face into beef jerky.
Personally, I prefer aftershaves without the excessive "skin junk" added. If I want to smear some kind of grease on my face, I will do that with a separate product.

I've used Fresh Vetiver and Platinum (both several years old) and neither has been especially drying or stinging. I've never used balm after applying aftershave splash. My typical practice is to apply styptic or alum if needed, then witch hazel, and then aftershave splash, so any sensitivity from the shave that I may be feeling is usually gone before applying the splash.

Thank you for the replies, gents! I was worried this question would be seen as spammy or infantile.

If you wish to use balm, then use it. If not, then don't.
Using an alcohol-based splash without balm will not turn your face into beef jerky.
Personally, I prefer aftershaves without the excessive "skin junk" added. If I want to smear some kind of grease on my face, I will do that with a separate product.
I'm glad to hear. I'd prefer my face not turn into beef jerky. So far so good.
Definitely not required imo. I think it’s a ymmv situation if an alcohol splash dries your skin.