What's new

Is Dove bad?

So I get really dry skin in the winter time and I'm already starting to feel it now where I live in Kentucky. I was thinking about trying Dove you know with the moisturizing cream and all but I keep reading it's not really soap. Even if that's true does it matter? What do you guys think of Dove or do you have any other recommendations for something that's a good moisturizing soap. I appreciate any help or recommendations.

Dove contains synthetic detergent ingredients. Despite that, most people find it fairly mild and can use it with no issues. People who insist on "natural" ingredients might not like Dove.

If you want to try a moisturizing soap, there are many good ones. For example, Mitchell's Wool Fat or Pre de Provence bath soaps are both really good.
1632697485758.png
1632697349809.png

Last edited:
I don't give much thought to bath soap, but I've been using Dove daily for close to twenty years since my wife started buying it for the household. It definitely reduces dry skin in the snowy winter months here, especially compared to Irish Spring, Dial, etc.

I haven't used Ivory for many years, but if I think of it, I'll pick up a bar for comparison and report back.

Dove is what my wife wants. I've bought much more expensive and fancy soaps and she always wants to go back to Dove. Right now she's using Pre de Provonce White Gardenia that I bought her because she loves the smell of gardenias. Guess what....she likes Dove better and plans to go back to Dove. (It'll probably be next year. That PdP bar is HUGE.)

Personally I'm happy with the cheap stuff.

A bar of Dove ground up and mixed with four tablespoons of coconut oil
and then mixed with two ground up bars of Neutrogena,
is something that I like to shave with.

Short answer: Dove is not bad.