What's new

Is a shavette/cut-throat razor really THAT much better than a safety razor?

Good afternoon all.

Today when I was in my local chemist (I am from UK, we call the said shops chemists, not drug stores) I saw this for sale:

Wikinson Sword's own shavette razor.

I was tempted to buy it but I want to know if a cut-throat razor (or shavette) is really THAT much better than a safety razor in terms of closeness; given the extra effort and precautions that are involved. Or is it just the 'ritual' that cut-throat razor enthusiasts enjoy?

My safety razor gives a very good shave so the whole point of this question is to see if its worth upgrading to a shavette/cut-throat as my skills improve.

Jason.

I'm still a beginner with a shavette. However, when I do use one I get a shave that's almost as close as my DE while getting less irritation. My skin also looks so much better that my wife noticed the difference. Out of the blue she said my skin looks younger, like when she first met me, so I'm not imagining it.

With the shavette, it requires fewer passes of the blade over my skin to get the closeness that I desire. The blade angle I can use also seems quite a bit more shallow than it is with a DE, and that seems to make the shavette very gentle on my skin. The main problem, other than time, is that I have a few trouble spots on my jawline that require an ATG direction that's difficult to achieve with the shavette. Other than that, the shavette shave is better, all around, than with my DE.

I usually end up using my DE most of the time, just to save time during the work week.

I still use DE once in a while but once I started straight razor shaving it is my preferred method to shave. I like the challenge of the shave, I like the challenge of maintaining the edge, and I'm fond of the end result. I can also shave every day, but with DE I need to take a day or 2 off once in a while.

I just like it better. Everyone is different.

Old Hippie