What's new

Is a pipe stand really necessary?

I'm new to pipe smoking and I got a new pipe, a Savinelli 320 and it said in the box that after you clean your pipe you should put it in a pipe stand. Is this suppose to dry it out or something?

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
Maybe helps keep it upright and looks cool. I don’t own a pipe stand. They sit on the desk or in the drawer. I think it’s a personal thing. If you’ve got several nice pipes they would look a lot better setting in a pipe stand than just willy nilly on the desk. Most pipes fall over on their side. Plus if you’ve got a really nice expensive pipe you may want to treat it nicer.

Also, after you are finished smoking your pipe may be hot or warm. Putting on a stand gives it a chance to cool down. I don’t immediately toss my pipes back in the drawer once I finish smoking. I leave them on the desk to cool down first.

But I don’t own a pipe stand so what do I know.

Need, no, looks better, keep the stems upright so moisture drains to the bowl. If/When you get more pipes can keep a rotation. Can keep virginia, aromatics and english pipes separated if you wish. I have a few stands , I also have about 6 pipes on a table that I have been using recently. If you have a spare ashtray inside, can lay it in there so it doesnt roll around and fall off, possibly damaging it.
Enjoy your pipe, keep it clean, dont take it apart while hot.

brandaves

With a great avatar comes great misidentification
They aren't absolutely necessary however they are very nice while smoking to have a place to rest a pipe that is getting hot or just sit it down without dumping the bowl. I guarantee you have something around that will give you an idea about them. Try using a watch to hold up your pipe while smoking. Not necessary, but nice.

steveclarkus

Goose Poop Connoisseur