What's new

In which Endcycle learns a valuable lesson.

(alternate title: Overconfidence results in a bloodbath)

Elements of the story:
1: Endcycle
2: Sandalwood Art of Shaving cream
3: Hot towel prep
4: (1) Gem Micromatic (open comb) with Ted Pella blade

I've never used the micromatic before, but I got the pella blades so I was psyched to give it a shot.

(missed warning sign - my daughter asked me if I planned to slice off all or just some of my face with the Gem)

I lathered up after my normal prep, and went at it slowly and with the correct angle, no pressure at all. First pass was tough - the head of the razor drags against the skin a bit, so it was slow going. I was a bit sore after pass 1 - checking the beard, I found minimal reduction. "What the heck", I thought, "let's try ATG".

Fast forward 5 minutes.

My girlfriend comes into the bathroom and her jaw drops. I'm a bloody disaster. I mean, I've never cut myself like this - the worst I've ever had was a few weepers, a nick or 2, whatever. I'm bleeding from at least 10 different places - all nicks. No slices, thankfully, but OW.

I threw on some gentle AS and used a styptic, but man. I'm a mess.

I put the gem into a box and hid it way back in my cabinet. I'm not touching it again for a long time.

ow.

(alternate title: Overconfidence results in a bloodbath)
I put the gem into a box and hid it way back in my cabinet. I'm not touching it again for a long time.

ow.

Thanks for the warning. I'll be verrrry careful when my Ted Pellas arrive. I hope that there's some consolation that your bad experience may prevent others from taking untoward risks.

Hope you're doing better. Keep after your face with the Witch Hazel! :frown:

thanks soapbox. i'm feeling a lot better now. i've been combatting the blood loss by drinking beers. :)

My face is much better now - thankfully. I was scared I really screwed myself up. I've never, EVER done that much damage to my face, even when I was learning how to shave.