What's new

In The Workshop-New Electrical/Technician Tool Pouch

Gents, every so often I put up one of these workshop postings with something hopefully interesting to the board. The last one was a scratch built tele antenna. As an electrician I am always on the lookout for a better way to organise and utilise tools and materials related to my job. I carry a very nice Veto Pro Pac MCT at work and really like it. However, my old tool bag at home was getting a bit worse for wear. Many pockets finally giving way at the bottom and that sort of thing. Time for an upgrade.

This led me to a lot of web searches and a lot of second guessing. Anyone who works with hand tools will tell you; the perfect tool carrier does not exist. Dependent upon trade and even task to hand, the needs can be very different. So you compromise for a best fit when possible. Enter a company called Ergodyne. They make some nice products. They have an EMT/Firefighter vibe but their tool carrier section is pretty well rounded and quality seems great. Prices are as expected not exactly bargain basement but as we know, quality usually does not come cheap.

Anyroad, enter their 5518 tool pouch with 16 pockets. A very sturdy, attractive(as tool pouches go), and well laid out tool carrier. Whomever designed this knows their work. I put one in the Amazon cart and waited. Sure enough, a few days later they offered me a price that made me hit the click button. About 60% of retail. $42 and change. Sold. Here are some photos I snapped on the deck. Just a mobile phone and the tools on a white towel. I was around 35F, 45 mph north wind and snow flurries. I hurried it up!

full

full

full
full

Last edited:
Some more. I wanted to link straight from Google drive but I don't think it works properly.

full