What's new

Im buying a bike with a internal gear hub, any suggestions or opinions welcome...

I'm plunking 2000 bucks on a Montague Shimano/internal gear hub bike, use a carbon belt line no chains. These need low maintains and last forever. I am new to the internal hub...has anyone owned such a bike and if so what's your reviews on it.

ALLSTON-DirectConnect-Open.jpg

M

member 119848

In 2011, I owned a VSF (german company) bike with such a belt, coupled with a Shimano Nexus 8. I had an extensive use with this bike. That was a trekking bike by the way.
The belt technology works, I find it as reliable as a chain. Harleys use such belts too!
However, belts do tend to loosen up a little with time, and need tension. On the bike that I had, the tension had to be done by ajusting the buttom bracket. I don´t know exactly why, but I always had gear shifting problems due to the lack of belt tension. My mechanic thought it was a design flaw, and was convinced that an ajustment from the rear axle would have been more stable.
I ended up selling this bike, and returned to a classic chain + internal gear hub. Never had a problem since then.
So... I guess it depends how the design of the tensioning system is. I love internal hubs (had a Speedhub Rohloff for trekking, now I have a 7-speed Shimano built on a Gazelle dutch bikefor commuting), and those hubs work great. But my experience with the carbon belt system hasn´t been so good.

M

member 119848

I also need to mention about internal hubs...
If you use them for commuting they're perfect. But looking at the style of your bike, if it´s a moutain bike, and your intention is to climb moutains and give them rough times... I don´t know if I would go for a Shimano 8-speed. Those hubs are reliable for "normal" use but not for abuse like Rohloff are built for.

I also need to mention about internal hubs...