What's new

Idle fountain pens

I know some (many?) members here have large collections of fountain pens. I have just four, with another in transit. All have ink in them, but not all are used daily.

So, my question (yet another):

How long can a pen sit idle when filled with ink?...other than drying out, can it become detrimental to the pen?

Lastly, I'm assuming it is best to empty and flush a pen that will be stored long-term.

Edit to add: I have little experience, but I do have a throw-away Zebra fountain pen that sat in a desk drawer for 15 years with an ink cart installed. I took it out last week to try it, and it seemed to write fine (considering that is is a $3 pen).

It all depends on how well the cap seals. I left my Lamy 2K at work during the lockdown here, and it sat for three months filled with Diamine Registrars. Started writing the moment I picked it up. Other pens will dry out over a weekend.

Ink drying out in a pen is not a big deal unless it is a pigment or iron gall. Then you will have more of a job trying to clean them out. Remember, a well made fountain pen is designed, primarily, as an ink holder as well as a dispenser.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
Mine will dry put if left long enough, but it depends which pen, and which ink.

I try to limit myself to three inked fountain pens, which minimises such problems. One with blue or black ink, one with another dark colour, and one with something else lighter/brighter for contrast. I always know which is which by the body colour.

For each of those three colour groups, I have a few different pens with the same body colour, so I instantly know which is my primary, secondary, or contrast pen. When any pen is empty, if I am not refilling with exactly the same ink, I'll flush it, and fill a different pen from that group instead.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
How long can a pen sit idle when filled with ink?...other than drying out, can it become detrimental to the pen?