What's new

I'd like a lathering bowl. Your recommendations?

Yo, I have a suspicion that my more 'thorough' face lathering practices lately are leading to post shave irritation, especially on my jowls/cheeks. In fact I can feel a bit of stinging during the lathering with some soaps (mostly looking at you ToBS!) before any blade hasn't even touched my face.

So, I'd like to try a lathering bowl to see if this helps identify if it is my face lathering and because it looks fun! I have no real experience with bowls though and not much of an idea of which ones are actually decent enough to buy. So far I've done one lathering in an enamel bowl using ToBS cream, it's a smooth cereal type bowl so I wasn't sure if it would work but surprisingly it did and it produced loads of good lather that I could play around hydrating and thickening etc. I had no irritation from that shave but I could feel the usual little bit of sting from that particular soap, I think it's the phony sandalwood chemicals. (Palmolive cream also stings a bit sometimes btw but not the stick).

Anyway, I'm worried I'll drop and break a ceramic bowl, I'm too cheap to spring for an artisan one and I'm too much of a snob for a plastic one lol. (Tbf I don't mind plastic but I'd prefer not to use it)

So.. copper? Brass? Steel? What are the options there? Budget of maybe £25 and available in the UK would be perfect.

Which one is your favourite? Does texture or ribs/lines in the bowl actually help? Does raw copper or brass make the lather smell metallic??

Cheers :)

I haven't tried it myself, but Executive Shaving have a stoneware bowl with grip for £25. It has ridges for lathering.

I have a Muhle (I think) metal bowl, which I find far too small to do anything with. Yes I can lather in it, but the lather escaped far too easily.

Edit to add: Executive Shaving also have their Large Urn metal bowl for £17, and the photo looks a decent size.
Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk