What's new

I was led to believe

Forgive my ignorance on this matter (I'm a newbie) When I was searching for a brush (long before joining B&B) I was led to believe that the best brush was the badger silvertip brush. I own the Parker silvertip.
I'm reading through the brush forum tonight, not only do I discover that it's not but also that people don't consistently use the same brush and use different ones for different days?weeks :confused1

My questions to you cultured people (clearly more cultured than myself :ouch1:)
Why do you use different brushes- any advantages or purely preference what you feel like on the day?
If silvertip isn't the best what is?

Many thanks
Steven

Steven,
There are a blue million “best brushes”. If it is the best for you and your budget, then count yourself lucky.
People rotate brushes for a whole host of reasons: letting the brushes dry out completely between uses, using different brushes for different kinds of soaps, using all the brushes they bought because they liked the looks, using some brushes for travel (synthetic, or smaller perhaps), having ethical issues with badger hair, and on and on.

Don’t lose sleep over it.
Hms

Btw, welcome. I hope you love it here.

Having at least 2 to let them dry is a necessity in my opinion but there is also the fun part…

Get a few different ones (Boar, Synthetic, 2-3 Badger grades) and develop your personal taste.

BE0ACF5D-78A4-4ABE-8B56-DF0C300323F0.jpeg

I’m afraid the worst brush in the world for you will be the best for someone else. You can detest scratchy hair, for example, yet it will be precisely what someone else is looking for in a brush. All shaving brushes will work well for making lather - the rest is really about personal preference and what characteristics best suit the way you like to use your brush.