What's new

I used my Grandfather's vintage razor today.

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
Hey Guys, I have my Grandfather's Real Old English Razor that I have been working on for a while. It is a Joseph Rodgers & Sons 6/8 from around 1901.

As a few of you know, I am new to wet shaving, having started DE shaving early this year at the ripe old age of 63 years. I'm getting really great DE shaves every day thanks to the advice I get from the B&B members, so decided to try my hands at using a Straight.

I used the SR yesterday on just my face and only using my right hand. The edge sucked because I just reset the bevel and didn't hone it enough. I got a slightly better edge today and also used my left hand for my left side. I'm just shaving my face with the straight for the first pass, and finishing up with my GC68.
I noticed right away that the straight had removed almost all the stubble where I shaved with it, as there was nothing for the GC to cut.

I have a Sharp Pebble 400/1000 stone that I use for wood planes to set the bevel with, then I used a piece of wood with green compound and my Grandfather's Raven for now. I have a Norton 4000/8000 and some lapping film on order, so I should be able to maintain the edge.

Now I need some advice on a backup straight razor to complement my vintage straight without breaking the bank!
20190705_181931.jpg
20190706_205613.jpg

Thanks and Happy shaves
prof

I have about 25 straights in my collection. They range from inexpensive Gold Dollar razors to expensive works of art.

The problem with Gold Dollar razors is that craftsmanship is poor, so you will always need to do some soft of modification to the razors. If you are lucky, modifying the heel will take care of the issues. Some folks sell Gold Dollars that have been modified and honed. Others sell Gold Dollars and say they are "shave ready" but they are far from it.