What's new

I think I'm finished

I've been using a DE razor and artisan soaps and creams with a brush for almost a year now but it's always been irritating and bloody. I suspect it's because of my inability to make a good lather because I get a perfect shave with ease with Barbasol and Gillette Foamy or any other canned cream. I've followed the steps, tips, and tricks that have been posted here, bowl lathered, face lathered, used synthetic and boar brushes but I still don't know what I'm doing wrong. I don't know if I want to keep trying at the expense of my face. I see why some people can be finicky with their lather.

Extending my empathies for your frustrations. As a noob, I feel them myself. (Three days ago, slaughtered my chin into a bloody mess for first time.) Seems that every "answer" creates a few more questions, and the matrices of decision-making never end in a satisfying, smooth, blood-free, irritation-free shave. Fells like being at the end of a bottomless pit!

I do really hope you decide to persevere with just that one more technique, that one more skill, that one more attempt. Whatever your conclusion, I hope you stay here to enjoy whatever form of shaving you adopt!

P.S. Edge Gel worked wonders for me for as long as it has been in the marketplace!

Just to parrot what I've been told--and I heard this advice probably about 100 times before I did it. Wash your face with soap and hot water. Rinse with hot water, leaving your face wet. Set up your lather however you do it, and apply. After you do the second side of your face, use your non dominant hand to drip some water on your brush (hot hot hot) and do one side of your face. Repeat the water sprinkle a few times alternating from one side to the other. Paradoxically, you'll find the lather will tighten up instead of becoming runny and useless. For me, this helped immensely because it created a "hot towel" on my face without one. The lather retains heat more effectively with each repeated addition.