What's new

I LOST MY RAZORS!!!

Hey B&B,

Longtime lurker, first time poster. First off thanks to the forum for your indispensable assistance over the years. From Kyle's Prep to reviews on blades and soaps, I've saved a lot of time and money by doing my research here first.

I just moved and, as the title states, I lost my Merkur 39c and my Bevel razor. I'm looking to see what direction to take in getting a replacement razor. I was satisfied with my 39c as I have larger hands and usually only shave 2-3 times per week. While a well built and quality razor, the Bevel was too mild for my taste. My go-to blades are Feather. At this junction should I get another 39c or other slant razor, switch to an open comb, or graduate to a straight razor? I've never used a straight before and even after 5+ years of wet shaving the potential new skill and maintenance are intimidating. I have a coarse curly hair which quickly builds up which has me curious about never before used open combs. As always suggestions are warmly welcomed. Please make sure that all razors mentioned are readily available as this will be my daily/weekly driver and I have no razor at the moment.

The Gillette New (long comb or short comb) is an excellent OC and shouldn't be terribly expensive. I find it to be extremely efficient bordering on dangerous. So with your tough beard it should be an excellent choice. It's also adjustable by unscrewing slightly to widen the gap. They designed it to do that.

I think most people here agree that the Gillette Slim Adjustable is a razor that every DE shaver should own. Or try at the very least. It's one of the most readily available, inexpensive, and versatile razors out there.
proxy.php
proxy.php