What's new

How to untangle a horse brush?

Hi all,
the patient in question is a barber style white hair horse brush from Vie-Long. And it is tangled in the middle of the knot. (Is there such a word like untangle? I'm not a native English speaker. I searched for it. Untangle, disentangle, unsnarl. You get the point.)

I have read many things today on B&B forums about how to prevent tangling. Ideas covered basicaly everything. Use painting movements instead of circular ones. Or don't use a horse brush. OK, fair enough, these might prevent tangling.
But my brush is already tangled. I tried to use a comb, both when dry or wet, but I can't in fact push the comb deep enough to reach the inside, or even if I can, I can't move it. Maybe if I reach one single hair. But that does not help.

Before I get to the point not to use my horse hair brush, does anyone have some experience how to successfully untangle? (Or unhorse for that matter.)

cheers
Andras

I've had no experience horsing around with a horsehair brush, but conditioner works to help unsnarl human hair. Have you tried it with your brush?

As far as English not being your native language, until you told us, the only tip-off was your lack of misspelled words.

It sounds as if you left it for far too long, you should generally comb it out after each shave or at least every week. Try cleaning the brush with some vinegar and water and gently keep on combing it out. I don't think there are any other options.

I have a patience of a ... horse.
Thanks all for the advices, I try to have it disentangled. (<--- I learned a new word, already feeling better.)

The way I untangle my horses tail is washing, then product, then lots of brushing. Not sure if the same applies for a horse hair brush though.