What's new

How to remove glue from handle?

I have these two handles that I have untied the knots, I want to use them with Omega boars. But the glue is left, how can I remove it? I don't have a dremel, maybe I need to buy one.
And a stupid question, when you use the dremel what do you use to hold the handle in place?
It is my first attempt to reknot!

IMG_20220207_170646.jpg

IMG_20220207_170630.jpg

Many glues will loosen when heat is applied. You have to be careful not to damage anything, of course.

A dremel tool would probably work. Possibly a wood chisel, if you have one in the right size.

To hold the handle, you can use a woodworker's vise, or a standard vise with the jaws lined with some soft wood scrap pieces (like pine).

I use a Dremel type tool with a drum sander attachment. I hold the handle in my left hand and the Dremel in my right hand. Be careful that you don't overdo in one position and make the hole oblong. I roll the drum sander around inside the hole for maybe 30 seconds or so, pull it out of the hole, turn the handle about 90 degrees, drum sand some more and repeat as necessary. Have the new knot handy and test fit it and determine if more removal is needed.